Exercise

by lieuhuynh

Unit 57

57.1

2. Try to move aerial. -> wrong: Try turning it other way.

3. Have you tried to turn it the other way. -> wrong: Have you  tried moving the aerial ?

4. Why don’t you phoning his office. -> right

5. Have you taking an aspirin. -> right

57.2

2. The room needs painting.

3. It needs cutting.

4. the screw needs to tighten. Wrong : need tightening

5. I need empting.

57.3

1.

b. I tried to knock… -> wrong : knocking.

c. We tried to put…

d. She tried asking…

e. I tried to reach…

f.  I am trying concentrating… -> wrong: to concentrate

2.

a. need to go

b. need to look -> wrong: looking.

c. need cleaning.

d. need cutting.

e. to iron – ironing

3.

a. couldn’t help overhearing.

b. to get

c. can’t help smiling.

d. to make

Result: 16/22

 

READING

OUR TOWN SPORTS CLUB

1. A – Membership application

2. B – Sports club

3. Individual – Family – Student – Trial

4. C – Money order.

5. A – job or profession

6. B – a legal process.

7. B – Joining a club

8. D – Trial

9. C – Three

10. B – people who pay by credit card.

11. D – Type

Result:  11/11

How did you enjoy your stay?

2.  B – a questionnaire

2. B – menu

3. A – maid

4. A – front desk

5. B – room service

6. B – delivering meals to a hotel

7. B – remain in one place

8. D – at a hotel.

9. A – Leave it in your room

10. C – cleanliness of front desk.

11. D – choice

Result: 11/11

 

Vacation leave request form

5. B – time off from work.

6. A – ask for something.

7. A – asking for day off from work.

8. C – Research Assistance

9. C – On April 1

10. D – The human resource director.

11. B – Time off.

 

Result:

Merry Marketing Company

2. James Jones

2. A – Alice Newbold

3. B – administrative assistant

4. A – Assistant Director

5. A – Worker

6. B – recommend

7. C – This letter is for any person who is interested in it.

8. A – She worked hard and got a higher job position.

9. A – given

10. C – To recommend an employee for a new job.

11. A – committed.

12. A – She has been an administrative assistant.

 

Result: 10/12

 

Letter 1:

2. Bob Smith

2. Joyce Miller

3. Meeting change

4.

5.  A –make different

6. B – opposite of first

7. A – a plan for spending money

8. B – on March 20 at 12:30

9. C – Copy of his report

10. A – the budget

11. D – supply

 

Result:

 

Letter 2

2. A – All staff

2. B –Office Manager

3. A – Office supplies

4. B – assistant

5. A – myself

6. A – manage

7. B – request

8. A – have permission

9. A – give

10. B – before

11. B – know about

12. B – To explain a new system.

13. C – both Ms. Lee and her assistant

14. D – necessary

15. A – by filling out the form.

 

Result:

 

Grammar

Unit 58: Verb + ing or to ….3 (like/would like)

58.2

2. She likes teaching biology.

3. He like taking the photographer and taking a lot of photographs.

4. I don’t like working there.

5. She like studying medicine.

6. He don’t like being famous.

7. She doesn’t like to take many risks.

8. I like to know things in advance.

58.3

2. Would you like to sit down? No, thanks. I’ll stand.

3. I’m not quite ready yet. Would you mind waiting for a little longer.

4. When I was a child, I hate going to bed early.

5. When I have to catch a train. I’m always worried that ‘ll miss it. So I like going to the station in plenty of time.

6. I enjoy being busy. I don’t like it when there’s nothing to do.

7. I would love to go to your wedding, but I’m afraid it isn’t possible.

8. I don’t like living in this part of town. I want to move somewhere else.

9. Do you have a minute? I’d like to tell you about something.

10. If there is bad news and good news. I like hearing the bad news first.

58.4

2. I would like to have seen the programmer.

3. I hate losing my watch.

4. I would love to have met your parents.

5. I don’t like being alone.

6. I would like to have traveled by train.

 

Result: